About classics and eBooks

Hey, guys! I’m not here to make a review today, sorry. Things have been pretty shaky around here and I didn’t have the time (or nerve) to finish the book I’m reading. So, yesterday I received the news that I’ll be attending university this year (yaaaay)! Which is something not related to books, but I wanted to share it. Because I’m really, really happy. Oh, and if anyone’s wondering, I’ll study Biological Sciences. Nope, nothing to do with books whatsoever.

Since I’m not here with a review, I decided it would be nice to talk about the website that I mentioned on my Jane Eyre post: Project Gutenberg. I don’t know if everyone is aware of its existence – I wasn’t, until about two years ago one of my teachers showed it to me. It’s amazing. They offer more than 46,000 free eBooks, previously published bona fide. Many of the classics are available there, and you don’t have to pay anything at all.

Of course, if you want to donate, you can. It’s a really nice thing to do, it keeps the website running. What you can also do is share it with your friends and colleagues. I’ve heard that a similar website, from my country, will be shut because there aren’t many visits and downloads, if the situation doesn’t improve soon. I think that’s sad, isn’t it? Free knowledge available legally and almost no one is interested or knows about it.

There are other websites like Gutenberg, I presume, but I don’t know any of them. If you do, let me know in the comments! That would make me happy.
That’s all I have for the day. Bye!

3 thoughts on “About classics and eBooks

  1. Yaaay! Congrats on getting to university!! 🙂
    Hmmm I like Smashwords as it has lots of good authors and often free books (or not so free books). There are probably a lot more of book sites though XD some always keep disappearing so I wonder how legal they are o.O

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thank you! I can’t tell you how happy I am, haha
      I’ll check on that one. And yes, there are probably lots of them – both legal and illegal, no doubt. I only read ebooks when I really can’t afford to buy it and I can’t wait till the next month. Which used to happen a lot before. Now I’m practicing self-control. Well, anyways, thanks for the recommendation 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 😀 Oh I read lots of ebooks too and books from library so I completely understand. I am horrible reader who rarely purchases any books…More people like me and no one would want to write anymore.

        Like

Leave a Reply

