The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

Okay, people. I recently bought this pretty, pretty edition of The Maze Runner. It’s the Collector’s Box Set, and you can buy it here if you want to. I even posted a picture on instagram. You can buy it here, if you want to.

Here’s the Goodreads summary:

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

Someone recommended me this book a while ago and the plot seemed appealing. Even though I really enjoyed the read, I was a bit disappointed because I had some high expectations. A few things bugged me, like some terms used and the fact that there’s only one girl in the book – fact which I hope to be explained later on. The main character, Thomas, also bothered me a bit sometimes.

What I loved about the book:

The maze, of course. I love mazes. I hadn’t read any dystopian young adult novels for quite a while, and I felt like it was a good welcome. I liked the way Thomas was curious, I could relate to that because I am very curious myself. I liked the racial diversity present in the book and I loved the Grievers. They’re cool monsters. I liked the girl, Teresa, and I liked the atmosphere of the book – it felt like something very important was ending. Like the battle of Hogwarts. Though nothing could be that exiting.

What I didn’t like about the book:

The characters are supposed to be very intelligent, and I can’t see them like that. I hated the slang created by Dashner. I think the terms were silly and unnecessary. As I said before, the lack of female presence really, really bothered me. And as for Thomas, I didn’t see him developing as a person. Even though that wasn’t the point of the book, I do think it’s important. I also disliked some of his reactions to a few things that happened in the book.

If you’ve read the book, I’d be delighted to read your opinion! Overall, it was a delightful read. I am looking forward to the sequel, The Scorch Trials. I give it four out of five stars and I leave you with a quote. Bye!

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

four

Leave a Reply

